Gerald Hiestand - Co-Founder and Director

Gerald has served on the CPT board since 2006, and was hired as part-time Director in the Fall of 2008.  Gerald has degrees from Moody Bible Institute and Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and is pursuing a PhD in Classics from the University of  Reading. He has been in pastoral ministry since 1999, and serves currently as the Senior Associate Pastor of Calvary Memorial Church in Oak Park. Gerald has written a number of scholarly articles (Trinity Journal, Westminster Journal, Evangelical Quarterly, Expository Times) and has a research interest in historical soteriology (mostly patristics) and ecclesial theology. His articles “Ecclesial Theology and Academic Theology: Why We Need More of the Former” (Reformation 21), and “The Pastor as Wider Theologian” (First Things), provide a concise overviews of the CPT’s theological vision. Gerald is also the author, along with Jay Thomas, of Sex, Dating and Relationships: A Fresh Approach (Crossway, 2012) and, with Todd Wilson, The Pastor Theologian: Resurrecting an Ancient Vision (Zondervan). His most recent book, co-edited with Wilson is, Becoming a Pastor Theologian: New Possibilities for Church Leadership (IVP Academic, 2016). Gerald and his wife, Jill, have four children.


Dr. Todd Wilson - Co-Founder and Chairman

Todd is the Senior Pastor of Calvary Memorial Church in Oak Park, Illinois, and has served on the CPT board since 2006. Todd has a B.A. in Philosophy, an M.A. in Biblical Exegesis, and a Ph.D. in New Testament from Cambridge University. In addition to being the author of several scholarly articles in the area of New Testament studies, he is also the author of The Curse of the Law and the Crisis in Galatia (Mohr-Siebeck), Paul’s Life and Letters (Kregel), coeditor (with Leland Ryken) of Preach the Word: Essays on Expository Preaching: In Honor of Dr. R. Kent Hughes (Crossway), coauthor (with Leland and Phil Ryken) of  Pastors in the Classics: Timeless Lessons on Life and Ministry from World Classics (Crossway), author of Galations, Gospel-Rooted Living: Preaching the Word (Crossway), and Real Christian: Bearing the Marks of Authentic Faith (Zondervan), and written along with Gerald Hiestand, The Pastor Theologian: Resurrecting an Ancient Vision (Zondervan). His most recent book, co-edited with Hiestand is Becoming a Pastor Theologian: New Possibilities for Church Leadership (IVP Academic, 2016).  He and his wife, Katie, both grew up in Carmel, Indiana and have seven children.


Jeremy Mann - Director of Programming and Development

Jeremy has served on the CPT staff since January of 2013. Jeremy graduated from Biola University and the Torrey Honors Institute in 2008 with a degree in Philosophy. He earned an M.A. in Special Education from Loyola Marymount University while teaching in Los Angeles through Teach For America. After training new Special Education teachers for Teach For America in Chicago, Jeremy completed an M.Div. at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School in 2015. He is now a PhD candidate at Wheaton College. He and his wife, Erin, are from Minnesota and have two children.


Zachary Wagner - Managing Director

Zachary grew up in Crystal Lake, Illinois, a northwest suburb of Chicago. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Systematic Theology from the Moody Bible Institute in Chicago in 2014. He went on to earn an M.A. in Biblical Exegesis from Wheaton College in 2016. In addition to his work at the CPT, Zachary is pursuing a second M.A. at Wheaton in systematics. He hopes to integrate the disciplines of theology and biblical studies into future research, writing, and ministry in the local church. His wife, Shelby, grew up in Portland, Oregon. After meeting in college they were married in 2014. Zach and Shelby live in Oak Park, Illinois.

CPT Board of Directors

Gerald Hiestand, Senior Associate Pastor, Calvary Memorial Church
Dr. Todd Wilson, Senior Pastor, Calvary Memorial Church
Dr. John Yates III, Rector, Holy Trinity Church
Dr. Michael LeFebvre, Pastor, Christ Church
Dr. John Isch, Board Chair, National Christian Foundation Indiana

CPT Senior Mentors

Dr. Scott Hafemann, Senior Mentor, First CPT Fellowship
Dr. Douglas A. Sweeney, Senior Mentor, Second CPT Fellowship
Dr. Paul House, Senior Mentor, Third CPT Fellowship
Dr. Kevin Vahnhoozer, Senior Mentor, Fourth CPT Fellowship

CPT Advisory Board

Dr. Timothy George, Dean, Beeson Divinity School
Dr. Cherith Fee Nordling, Associate Professor of Theology, Northern Seminary
Dr. Peter Leithart, President, Theopolis Institute
Dr. Sydney Park, Associate Professor of Divinity, Beeson Divinity School
Dr. Timothy Tennent, President, Asbury Theological Seminary
Dr. Dana Harris, Associate Professor of New Testament, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
Dr. Phil Ryken, President, Wheaton College
Dr. Kevin Vanhoozer, Research Professor of Theology, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
Dr. Fred Sanders, Professor, Torrey Honors Institute, Biola University
Dr. Richard Mouw, Professor of Faith and Public Life, Fuller University
Dr. John Yates II, Rector, Falls Church Anglican
Collin Hansen, Editorial Director, The Gospel Coalition

Signup for our Enews